In the future it is expected that the proportion of older people will be higher than that of young people in many developed countries.

What are the positive or negative effects of this development?

Forecasts indicate that humanity should be expecting a rapidly growing size of the elderly population, surpassing that of the younger age groups. This would lead to two main concerns, rising government expenditure and lower economic growth.

To begin with, an aging population would see a significant rise in government expenditure. This is due to an increase in pensioners’ payments as well as expanded healthcare demand. To elaborate, as more people enter the retirement age, naturally, the government is expected to assist them with their expenses as they no longer go to work, thus, requiring more expenditure from a nation’s treasury. Similarly, as people grow older, their body will not always function as intended, therefore leading to more health issues, hence requiring more government health subsidies to cover the treatments of those emerging health concerns, again, putting strains on the government’s budget.

In addition to an amplified expenditure, lower economic growth may also accompany an aging nation. This is a direct consequence of a reduction in the size of a country’s labour force, as well as the shrinking investment utility rate of their budget spending. Firstly, as more and more workers retire, the production capacity of an economy contracts due to the thinning of the workforce, failing to generate any further Gross Domestic Production, ultimately rendering a drop in economic growth. Moreover, despite the government spending money to stimulate the economy, such funds are not being allocated into the investment of business activities, but rather, on daily expenses of old people. This leads to a plummeting ability to further expand an economy’s growth, therefore hampering its economic progress. Japan is a clear instance of this issue, where an aging population exerted an opposing pressure against its economic growth.

In conclusion, a close examination of the issue uncovered several concerns associated with an aging population. Those issues include but are not limited to government budget strains and weakening economic growth.