It is generally believed that some children are born with a natural talents for singing or dancing and adults should focus on developing their children’s artistic talents instead of their other skills.

To what extent to do you agree or disagree?

There is a notion that a number of children are born with artistic talents such as singing or dancing. Hence, adult should prioritise the development of artistic skills for these young children rather than other skill sets. Personally, while it is necessary to nurture artistic talents, I firmly believe that other life skills also play an essential role in a child’s growth.

For a variety of reasons, focusing on children’s innate talents, especially when it comes to art, can bring certain profound benefits. To begin with, when a child’s talent is discovered in the early age, their parents or mentors can provide adequate advice, bring these children a sense of purpose and direction. In other words, they can determine their ultimate goal in the future and exert their effort in pursuing their career. Hence, this can open doors to numerous opportunities, facilitating a child’s progress in becoming a professional artist. For instance, in modern era, there are heaps of art contests designated specifically for children to perform their art skills, such as the voice kid. These competitions not only offer an enormous chance for children to shine in front of the audience but also allow parents to help reorientate their offsprings in choosing their profession.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, despite the advantages of developing artistic talents, other skills should not be neglected as they can bring certain influences to children’s growth. To explain, teaching children certain life skills, such as problem-solving or interpersonal skills can be beneficial for children’s mental growth, forming their personalities or even building up their own circle of relationships. This means that by allowing children to be exposed to diverse subjects, such as science subjects like mathematics, and outdoor activities, children will be able to acquire subtle abilities that are not often taught in school curriculum. For example, maths or physics help children learn how to solve a problem using their own knowledge and ability whereas sports stimulate their team-work skills.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that although it is important to pay attention to support a child’s artistic talents, teaching children the ability to cope with their life through various life skills should also be emphasised.