Some people believe people cannot solve environmental problems, whereas others believe individuals are responsible for solving environmental problems.

Discuss both views and give your own.

Opinions are divided on whether it is viable for humankind to deal with current environmental issues or is it a responsibility of each person to help mitigate environmental problems. Personally, I totally agree that it is necessary for individuals to contribute their effort in saving the environment.

For a variety of reasons, it is justifiable to say that individuals can, to a significant extent, contribute to the rectification of existing climate issues. The main reason is that small actions coming from personal effort can accumulate, forming a more noticeable impact in the fight against environmental crisis. In addition, under the right context, individuals can combine opinions, applying their political influence to pressure governments to introduce measures against corporate environmental irresponsibility. By doing this, several environmental pollutions, such as water pollution caused by the contamination from a number of factories, can be alleviated.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, it is believed that solving problems related to environmental pollutions is beyond human’s capacity. This is mainly because significant costs are required to address environmental concerns. Hence, it will take a larger financial budget rather than one’s finance to actually eradicate the problems of environment. Furthermore, another factor is the impracticality of implementing laws and regulations in expectations of fully standardising public environmental responsibility. To elaborate, protecting the environment relies heavily on people’s awareness. Therefore, despite certain laws, it is unlikely to wipe out environmental issues unless people can change their perception of how vital the natural environment is.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that people should be in charge of protecting the environment.