Some people think that only managers should make decisions in the company. while others think that employees should also be involved in the process of decision-making. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions are divided whether there should be any involvement of staff members in decision-making process or managers are the only ones who need to decide for the company. From my perspective, I hold a firm believe that a company’s operation can become more effective if employees contribute their effort in any projects.

It is undeniable that employees play an indispensable role in every organisation. First, by consulting ideas from the staff members, the top management can make easier decisions in important projects. This is because managers will be given a wider range of options which help them save time for other crucial tasks. In addition to this, staff members’ opinions may come in handy as employees are directly involved the company’s projects and these workers are the ones who need to implement the plan from their managers. Hence, their contributions can bring more benefits rather than harms for the organisation.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, managers are believed to be the only key factor in decision-making process. The main reason is that most managers are often recruited or promoted based on their qualification as well as their experience. As a result, their decisions can be more transparent and assertive whereas employees’ ideas may take more time for reconsideration. Moreover, since people’s personalities differ from one to another, having a great number of thoughts in decision-making process may result in work conflict between members, leading to unproductive working time. Therefore, final decisions of any assignment should be made by executives in order to avoid inefficiency.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that any employees in an organisations should be a part of the decision-making process because of their vital role in the company.