Schools should focus more on teaching students how to be successful in the workforce and less on helping them to achieve academic success.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Looking from an educational perspective, it is generally believed that students should be taught how to become productive employees rather than placing their emphasis on academic performance. From my point of view, this statement fails to manifest its validity due to a number of reasons which will be discussed on the following paper.

For a variety of reasons, outstanding academic results may provide more employment opportunities for students. This is due to the fact that a great number of recruiters nowadays tend to prioritise candidates who are well-equipped with technical expertise. Therefore, owning good qualifications will help facilitate student’s job application once they graduate from school. Futhermore, students with extraordinary achievements in their academic training might be able to draw public attention. Hence, these people can take advantage of their reputation to make a fortune.

Apart from the abovementioned concerns, an escalation in numbers of academic achievers can also improve the quality of workforce. This is mainly because highly qualified school leavers can diversify the labour forces, giving organisations various options when it comes to recruitment. As a result, it is unlikely for numerous companies to face the risk of lacking human resources. Another reason to support the focus of educational institutions on academic merits is that once a student’s achievements are widely recognised, the schools will also be the beneficiaries as they can gain more fame for their quality education. Hence, these educational organisations can attract more students to enroll in the schools

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that academic results play an important role not only in promoting students’ career path but also in building schools’ reputation.