Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Looking from an economical perspective, it is debatable whether manufacturers and supermarket should bear the main responsibility to cut off packaging for their commodities or it is consumers' duty to avoid purchasing products with too much packages. Personally, I totally concur with the former statement.

For a variety of reasons, reducing packaging should come from either manufacturing companies of retailers. To explain, when there is a reduction in using packaging, this means the quantity of packages, which may be produced from various materials, including plastic, can be limit. As a result, several benefits can be brought to the communities. For instance, putting a limitation of packaging can lead to the requirement of personal containers of the consumers when shopping. Hence, the quantity of unnecessary packages can be strictly controlled, meaning there might be less packaging waste disposed to the environment. Even more importantly, this result can help mitigate certain environmental pollutions, such as water pollution mainly caused by plastic bags.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, there are also individuals who have a notion that buying products with excessive wrapping should be avoided by consumers. The primary reason for this is that not every customer is fully aware of the detrimental impacts of packages. Therefore, if these people dispose their rubbish, especially plastic wrapping, inappropriately, there will be profound consequences such as water contamination. Taking Vietnam, in which there are garbage bins designated for different purposes, including recycling trash or non-biodegradable rubbish as an example. Despite the availability of these public facilities, a number of residents still liter their trash inappropriately, leading to water pollution in some places.

Taking everything into considerations, this reinforces my perspective that although consumers are believed to be the ones who should not buy goods with too much wrapping, supermarkets and manufacturers should hold the main duty in reducing packaging.