Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Looking from an educational perspective, some claim that subjects related to art skills, such as music or craft should be included in school programme as these subjects are believed to bring certain benefits to students performance. Personally, while I hold a belief that art subjects can be beneficial to students performance, it is unnecessary to make these school subjects mandatory for all students.

For a variety of reasons, it would be unjustifiable to force all students to learn art in their study at school. The main reason for this argument is that students deserve the right to choose their own subjects as their innate talents vary from each other. This means that one can be gifted with art talent whereas others show a remarkable performance in science subjects. Hence, making all students learn art at school can bring a sense of reluctance, especially those who detest art, resulting in poor performance. Take a number of secondary school in Vietnam as an example. Some Vietnamese students, who show very little interest in art, often perform poorly in class during art session as they might have a notion that art seems to be tedious for them. As a result, these students may get distracted during art classes and receive dreadful results at the end of the school year.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, learning art at school can somehow lead to an improvement for students. To explain, in some countries, school programmes are often heavy as students are required to learn various subjects, ranging from science to social aspects. Therefore, spending the entire school day focusing on academic knowledge can stress them out, leading to unproductive outcome as high levels of stress are scientifically proven to be harmful for brain health. In other words, learning art subjects, such as music, can be a great opportunity for students to release their pressure, recharging their energy so that they can be more efficient afterwards. For instance, some Vietnamese pupils find art sessions a good time for them to be creative and have fun while learning some useful skills, especially after a hetic day with a lot of main subjects. Therefore, in certain Vietnamese schools, students are provided art classes after science subjects in order to help release tension after a class.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that young students should be given a chance to choose whether they can learn art subjects, which can help improve students’ academic results.