It should be more expensive to make sugary products less appealing to consumers in order to encourage them to consume less. Many manufactured foods and drinks contain high levels of sugar, which can cause many health problems.

Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that certain products that contain high level of sugar should be tagged with higher prices as a way to discourage consumers from consuming sugary foods and drinks. Moreover, the main root of various medical issues is the excessive amount of sugar in processed foods and drinks. Personally, while I hold a firm belief that sugar is the main cause of several diseases, it is unjustifiable to push the price of sugary products.

For a variety of reasons, sugar can be blamed the main culprit leading to a number of illnesses. To begin with, in modern era, heaps of edible products are pre-cooked with a large addition of sugar. Once an individual consumes these products, sugar levels in their body will witness a surge, stimulating their appetite and induce a desire for more food consumption. Consequently, those who choose to eat more may have to experience obesity. Another note-worthy point is that a vast number of beverages, which comprises a significant quantity of sugar, is scientifically proven the primary cause of diabetes. This is because consuming sweetened drinks for a prolonged period of time can lead to insulin tolerance, raising the blood sugar levels and resulting in higher risk of diabetes.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, it is unnecessary to boost the price tags of sweetened products. First, despite the fact that consuming sugary products excessively can bring some detrimental impacts, these sugary products, such as soft drinks, are considered basic necessities. Therefore, making these products exorbitant will affect the consumptions of these products, pressuring its revenue. Hence, such circumstance will create a drop in economic growth, raising the rate of unemployment as companies which specialise in sugary foods and drinks production may have to cut down their workforce.

Taking everything into consideration, it is clear that while raising the cost of sugary products may provide some short-term benefit, a long-run economic deterioration may follow. Thus, I strongly oppose the approach of incurring higher costs on sugar heavy contents.