In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past.

Why is this?

What can be learned from this?

In contemporary society, as the global economy has advanced in leaps and bounds, a large group of individuals has become wealthier regardless of the country’s status. However, it is believed that these countries are dissatisfied compared to their previous generations. The following paper will be looking at the roots as well as examining the lessons deduced from this situation.

For a variety of reasons, economic development has brought a fortune to a large group of people in developed and developing nations. Following globalisation, economical borders have been broken down in order to facilitate trading activities, generating a diverse range of career paths for people to run their own business or to seek a position in multinational companies. Hence, numerous people have gained a chance to reach remarkable income levels in various industries, such as business or engineering. Nonetheless, to achieve such significant accomplishment in modern era, people may have to exert time and effort extensively, which often takes up a considerable part of their day. Consequently, certain detrimental impacts can be anticipated, notably stress or depression, leading to dissatisfaction among the population. In contrast, to achieve a strong income level in the past was relatively more viable, where occupations do not demand a person to be highly skilled, through either trainings or experience.

Apart from the causal analysis, several lessons can be absorbed from this trend. First, it would be justifiable to believe that economic expansion would result in an increasing number of employment opportunities for people regardless their origins. If they can utilize such advantage, they will be able to join the wealthy class in society. Another note-worthy point is that money should not be considered as the main factor of happiness. In the modern world, having money means that people are required to spend a great deal of their time working. As a result, life would be meaningless if people are not able to spend their money with their beloved ones despite possessing a significant fortune.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that globalization can be seen as a cause to enrich people’s asset but this can also lead to a sense of unhappiness among them. However, it can also be deduced that by capitalizing on economic prosperity, one may enrich themselves financially. Lastly, through the examination of the matter, it is imperative that one understand the social cost involved in achieving financial success.