Some modern artists receive huge sums of money for the things they create, while others struggle to survive. Governments should take steps to resolve this unfair situation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed that a number of artists in contemporary world are able to make a fortune after releasing new artworks whereas many strive to survive in life. Hence, governments should bear responsibility to equalise this unfairness. Personally, while I hold a firm belief that some artists can make more money from their products, it is unreasonable to acquire the support from the authorities.

For a variety of reasons, there are numerous artists who are capable of earning a remarkable income from selling their work of art. To explain, these people are often talented and have a large circle of relationships with their fans and business partners. In other words, once they release a brand-new product, such as a new song or a new painting, they be benefited from their current network, bringing them a huge amount of income. On the other hand, there are still artists who may find it difficult to progress in their career. To elaborate, these individuals may be gifted but for some reasons, they are unable to show their consistency and end up having a mediocre career. For instance, Susan Boyle was an outstanding singer who used to perform excellently in a talent show. However, her appearance and relationships in the show business may have stopped her from having a fruitful career after the contest and she may be remembered by only a few at present.

Apart from the aforementioned practical concerns, there are other more essential matters that require support from the government rather than this situation. To begin with, each country has its own major problems, such as finance or social issues. This means that instead of spending budget to help unfortunate artists, it is more important for government to provide different types of aids to their citizens. For example, spending national budget to provide free healthcare or education would be more meaningful to the people rather than supporting poor artists.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that while some artists can make a lot from their own products and vice versa, balancing this situation might be an unnecessary step for the governments.