It should be more expensive to make sugary products less appealing to consumers in order to encourage them to consume less. Many manufactured foods and drinks contain high levels of sugar, which can cause many health problems.

Do you agree or disagree?

Looking from an economic perspective, many food manufacturers have perceived sugary products as a profitable market. However, the proliferation in production of these products has led to ever-increasing unhealthy eating habits which worsen consumers’ health. Although I personally agree that overconsumption of sugary foods and drinks is harmful for health, I do not think the proposal of raising the price of these products is a plausible solution to the problem.

It is scientifically evident that excessive absorption of sugar will cause numerous health issues. People in the twenty-first century seem to be more vulnerable to stress due to increasing exposure to cutting-edge technology. Though this resolution has facilitated work productivity, people have to deal with more workload and work flexibly at the same time, which in turn makes them stressed out. It is proven by many scholars that consumption of sugary products will help ease the stress and thus people seem to seek these products as a solution to their stressful life. However, the human body is biologically designed to take in an adequate level of different nutrients and an excessive amount of sugar taken in will be a great health threat. This can cause diabetes or even worse disturb the metabolism process, making the intestines malfunction and leading to obesity at the end.

From the abovementioned drawbacks, measurements for controlling increasing consumption of these unhealthy products have been put on the tables for debates but not many have succeeded in proving their effectiveness. Raising the prices of manufactured foods and beverages seems to be the worst one since it only does more harm than good. Making sugary products more expensive will only turn them into a highly profitable market and a high return of investment will eventually blind the manufacturers in exchange for tremendous economic benefits. This might lead to a mass production of sugary products with more eye-catching labels and designs to encourage buying behaviours. This is not to mention that as eating foods with a high level of sugar has become an addictive habit of many consumers, increasing the product price will not be able to deal with this rooted consumption.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that overconsumption of high-sugar products will have profound impacts on consumers’ health. However, increasing the price in hope of manipulating people’s consumption habits of these unhealthy products is surely not a promising solution.