There is no need for printed books, magazines, and newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is claimed that paper-based reading materials, such as books, magazines or newspapers are no longer necessary. Personally, I firmly belief that these forms of reading are not useful and should not be produced.

For a variety of reasons, traditional books, newspapers or magazines may bring certain drawbacks to the modern world. To begin with, these types of materials are often considered environmentally harmful. To explain, in order to produce printed reading materials, it is necessary to acquire paper, which is made from wood or timber. In other words, higher demand for paper books or newspaper will result in increased exploitation of natural resources, particularly trees, for paper production process. Ultimately, these actions, including deforestation, can damage the evironment, leaving several irreversibly adverse impacts, such as imbalanced ecosystem due to land disruption the lack of plants in the forest.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, the production for conventional books or newspapers should be reduced due to its downsides. To elaborate, paper books or newspapers often take up spaces for storage, potentially leading to a waste of empty space if individuals attepmt to collect a great number of books or newspapers for their personal hobbies. Even more importantly, these paper materials will certainly deteriorate through time if not well preserved, resulting in a waste of financial resources, especially for people with low incomes.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that even though printed books, newspapers or magazines still hold a role in modern era, the demand for these reading materials is expected to gradually diminish in the future.