Art is considered an important part of society as well as an expression of its culture. Therefore, many people argue that children should be required to study the arts at school.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that art plays an essential part in human's life as well as preserving cultural value. Hence, it is necessary for children to pay more attention to art subjects at school. Personally, I totally agree with this statement.

For a variety of reasons, it would be effective for children to learn art as it promotes their creativity and imagination. Through studying art subjects, children will be allowed to express their ideas without encountering any boundaries. Moreover, they can also use their imagination in creating a piece of art. In addition, after learning art subjects, children will be trained to become more disciplined and responsible for their work. This is mainly because during the process of making artworks or training for performance, young children have tos follow the rules and instructions as well as exert their time and effort in order to complete the training sessions. As a result, they will become more disciplined and tend to appreciate their work.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, it would be better if there are more art classes in the school's curriculum. The main reason is that cultural and artistic values will be well preserved and developed through different generations, especially among children. Furthermore, learning art will help educate children and raise their awareness of the importance of art. Additionally, art helps to orientate children’s future career perspective. Since children with innate talents can be nurtured from studying art, when they reach adulthood to become an artist which enables them to make a living by producing artworks.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that it is vital for children to acquire more knowledge about art when they are at school.