The media should limit how much bad news they report because it discourages people from doing activities which usually involve very little risk.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary society, it is believed that there should be a limitation in bad news report as it stops people from engaging in certain activities, some of which are even risk-free. Personally, I totally disagree with the fact that negative news should be strictly controlled as readers will not be discouraged by reading it.

For a variety of reasons, it would be ineffective to control news report about negative information. To begin with, people deserve to know, whether the information is positive or negative, about the situations occurring around them on a daily basis. Hence, once they are aware of their surroundings, they can be more cautious and well-prepared for any dangers. For instance, when a crime takes place in a neighbourhood, if the local media does not report about it, local residents will not be able to prepare a plan to protect themselves as well as their own properties. Consequently, the circumstance might somehow deteriorate and this may cause more unexpected incidents.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, bad news only brings certain minor impacts on people, particularly when it comes to doing harmless activities. This is because the majority of readers in the modern era are educated. Thus, when selecting information for their reading, these groups of readers have a tendency filter out unnecessary information or search for various sources before making their final decision. To elaborate, consuming high-calorie food, such as fast food, is considered one of the main roots of numerous diseases, including cardiovascular disease. Some health-conscious individuals find this information incorrect as if they maintain an appropriate amount of calorie intake, they can still stay healthy and even lose fat.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that strictly controlling bad news is unnecessary as negative information cannot stop people from taking part in less harmful activities in their daily life.