Some people think that it is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illnesses, rather than funding the treatment for people who are already ill.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the question whether governmental budget should be allocated towards promoting an active and healthy lifestyle or towards medical care for ill patients has raised a noticeable amount of controversy. From my perspective, I wholeheartedly agree with the claim in question due to the pre-emptive nature of the investment to address clinical concerns as well as the consideration of taking an opposite course of action.

To elaborate, illness prevention is the more preferable approach as it is a proactive solution to potential health problems. By encouraging a healthy lifestyle along with clean and nutritious food intake, several individuals may reduce the risk associated with health-related diseases such as cardiovascular diseases, obesity and diabetes. Subsequently, as there will be less patients experiencing health issues, hospitals will have more capacity to treat patients who require intensive treatment for chronic or detrimental diseases. Furthermore, although the initial investment for healthy lifestyle promotion can be costly, in the long term, when citizens’ health is in better or at top conditions, the government will no longer have to be concerned about the cost of treatment, which has proven to be more costly. Instead, they can decide to further invest in developing other fields, namely education, commerce or military, which can prosper the country’s economy and security.

In addition to the abovementioned facts, another primary rationale for the opposition of providing treatment after it has manifested is due to the setbacks of reactive approach. To be more specific, the reactive method is reacting to adverse diseases after it has occurred, which is providing treatment for patients with diseases stemming from an unhealthy lifestyle. By offering the patients treatment without properly educating or instructing them on how to maintain a healthy lifestyle, these patients will soon set back on their unhealthy habits and inactivity. As a result, they have a high chance of returning to medical institutions to receive more treatments after re-acquiring health-related illnesses. Consequently, the government may need to continuously spend their budgets on treatment and medical care, which can be detrimental considering there are various other fields which need more financial support.

To recapitulate briefly, this strongly reinforces my perspective that the proactive approach of healthy lifestyle encouragement and promotion should prevail over the reactive approach of providing treatment due to a wide range of upsides it brings to medical institutions and society.