Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals;

during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A large number of individuals have lost touch with the true meaning of festivals, and that they only wish to experience joy during these festival periods. I totally agree with this statement.

Firstly, in most of the festivals, people are allowed to get days off which means that they have time to go on a vacation with family and friends or even stay at home by themself. In other words, they could do whatever they want to do as long as these activities entertain them, therefore honoring the festivals' deeper significance is no longer their priority. For example, independence day in Vietnam, some people just completely forget about the underlying meaning of this holiday, which is the birth of the country besides knowing only the name of the festival and awarening that they have two days off.

Secondly, nowadays, most people just want to watch or read about things that are entertaining and cost little time, rather than doing research about the long history of the festival. At the same time, the appearance of social networks containing short entertaining contents has covered nearly the entire world. For instance, a under twenty seconds dancing video on Tiktok is worth watching, compared to an hour long video about the true meaning of independence day - according to TuoiTre online news.

In conclusion, most people have forgotten the underlying meaning of festivals due to the fact that they want to enjoy themself and social networks play a part in it.