Motivation Letter

IDH The Sustainable Trade Initiative – Landscape Manager

I wrote this letter to show how truly interested I’m in natural resources rescuing by green development mechanism. I got the informations about position necessary as a Landscape Manager at IDH The Sustainable Trade Initiative. As an information, I worked as a Forestry Planner on protecting natural resources and indigenous people activities in Papua especially Mamberamo area in last six years. Start with Papua Environmental Foundation from 2013-2017 and continue with INTSIA Papua Foundation in last two years. In general what we did in Mamberamo was trying to found forest management models based on local community that able to secure forest sustainability while giving economics benefit to local people.

We also contribute in SETAPAK (Save The Forests and Land through Improved Governance) Program supported by The Asia Foundation. As a Program Officer, my job was collect and analysis Spatial Plan of Papua Province data consist of spatial pattern and structure, technical document of spatial plan and matrix of development program planning. Then coordinate with CSOs in Jayapura and surrounding areas to discuss and propose inputs related to the affirmation of the position of Papuan Indigenous Peoples in the Papua Spatial Plans, both in the spatial and legal aspects through the Review process. In addition, I also collect and analyze Land-Based Investment Licensing Licenses and together with the CSO Coalition encourage the Moratorium on Forestry, Oil Palm and Mining Permits in Papua Province.

In carrying out the various tasks and responsibilities above, of course the ultimate goal is how local communities, especially those who live around the forest can be empowered and economically independent. This has become a challenge for me personally to be able to find solutions or develop adaptive economic models and be able to guarantee sustainability while maintaining the preservation of forests and land. Regarding the current direction of economic development to the challenges ahead, I am very confident that with a strong will and with the involvement of various stakeholders in the macroeconomic context to bridge these processes. For this reason, investment institutions such as banking and private sectors have become very strategic including, policy support from the government. Cooperation between those sectors, in my opinion, will be a strategic step to create a model / economic cycle based on sustainable forestry or landscape-based local commodities.

By looking at the job descriptions and responsibilities that will be carried out by the Landscape Manager position in this program, I feel interested because in principle this is very much in accordance with what was learned so far through my work at the site level. Then coupled with the experience of communicating and working and visiting remote areas became a comparative advantage for me that could be used as a support if I was later trusted to occupy this position.