In multicultural societies, people of different cultural backgrounds live and work together. Do you think the advantages of multicultural societies outweigh the disadvantages ?

With the rapid globalization in terms of many aspects, nowadays, people tend to live in an increasing multicultural society. While it is also becoming a controversial issue about whether the combination of people who come from various ethnic groups is of benefit for the individuals and society. From my perspective, more benefits than problems will surface with this trend.

To begin with, a multicultural society or community enables their dwellers to enjoy the amazing and unique cultures that different with their own. It is undeniable that many cultures and customs are disappearing in a stunned speed due to the limitation of geography. Foreign people hardly had the opportunity to access those abundant civilizations in the pastime. This multicultural society definitely provides a great stage for people all around the world to appreciate other cultures.

Also, living with people of various ethnic cultural background, it is more likely for us to become understandable and tolerant persons. Admittedly, such a mixture of different cultures in one community may lead to some conflicts since there are different and even converse customs in those cultures. To illustrated, countless people who come from Mid-eastern never eat pork, but other people may enjoy this food. In addition, there may be a debate about the religious activities. Therefore, under those circumstances, people must learn how to understand and show more acceptance to those differences.

To concluded, it is true that controversies and conflicts will continue to exist in those multicultural society. I believe that, however, it is also beneficial for individuals and society as a whole. Since it seems inevitable for our world becoming smaller, we should pay more attention on the bright side of this trend.