New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is often argued that the ways youngsters waste their spare time are replaced by new machinery. In my opinion, these devices do more harm than good to children.

On the one hand, new electronic devices connected to the Internet have brought certain values to teenagers. Firstly, they satisfy children of different preferences for entertainments in leisure time such as: video games, games after a hard working day at school. Secondly, adolescents are more likely to gain some basic skills and knowledge which play a fundamental role in their future jobs after playing these games. For example, fast reflexes can be horned by playing 2468-a puzzle-solving game. Also, vocabularies as well as memory can be enhanced through Word Links.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that the cons of availability of modern technological devices are more worrying compared to the pros for a variety of reasons. It cannot be denied that children stand higher chances of developing and leading a sedentary and passive lifestyle as modern technologies are addictive. Furthermore, exposure to technology can lead to deterioration in health. For instance, a student may suffer from short-sighted due to spending too much time on surfing the Web, playing games and browsing the apps such as Facebook, Instagram. Finally, using these devices can result in some dangerous problems. To illustrate, these virtual relationships on games can lead to private violation or cyberbullying.

In conclusion, I think that the disadvantages of new modern technologies that teenagers often use in their leisure time far outweigh their advantages.