New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that with the advent of new technologies, the way children spend their free time has been changed. While this has several drawbacks, I believe that overall the advantages are more significant.

On the one hand, this trend has a number of negative effects. Firstly, spending free time on new technologies encourages a sedentary lifestyle. Because technology is addictive, children tend to keep their eyes glued to screens for hours on end instead of doing physical exercises. As a result, youngsters are becoming lazier and are more likely to be caught obesity. Besides, new technologies cause some other health problems. High exposure to technologies certainly results in headaches, eye strain and stressed feelings. For example, I have been short-sighted since I was 7 years old because I spent too much time watching TV instead of taking part in outdoor activities.

Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I believe that the development of technologies has positive effects on the way children spend their free time. Firstly, new technologies provide an endless stream of entertainment to teenagers. They can watch movies, surf the Internet, play games or listen to music in their free time. In contrast, without technologies, youngsters have a limited range of leisure activities such as doing physical exercises, reading books and taking part in outdoor activities. Secondly, technologies help adolescents to widen their knowledge. They can take advantage of spare time to learn new things by taking an online course. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, many universities in the world such as Oxford, Cambridge allow accessing a huge source of material freely, so students can make use of their leisure time to broaden their mind.

In conclusion, although this trend has some negative effects, I believe that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.