New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Technological advancement has revolutionised the way children spend their leisure time.Although it has some positive outcomes,i personally believe that it has more harmful effects.

Looking at the positive side, undoubtedly, technology has brought more positive results.Firstly, it opens a child's door to the world of knowledge. Children gather wide verities of information about the world while they choose to spare their free time in watching television or browsing internet.Many entertainment channels such as discovery and animal planet,for instance, provide in-depth knowledge about many science subjects which in turn equip the students to perform better in their respective academic subjects.

Nevertheless, the negative sides of technological advancement should not be forgotten.The predominant reason that must be considered in mind is the development of sedentary life styles.when children are offered technological gadgets such as video games and television they often tend to develop over dependence on such products resulting in prolonged sitting.This,eventually leads to the development of major health issues such as obesity and heart diseases.A second negative aspect is the lack of social communication while pupils are more interested to sit with their task rather than hanging out with friends to do some outdoor activities or to communicate with each other.As a matter of fact, children might lack not only the life experiences but also the ability to cope with their life effectively.

In conclusion, although acquiring knowledge is a bright side of modern leisure activities,the idle life styles and reduced level of social communication are truly worth considering.Thus,i believe, it has more downsides than positive outcomes.