Not all family members are having meals together in everyday bases. Why? Positive or negative?

Globally, an increasing number of people are no longer eating with their family for every meal. In my point of view, the primary reason for this phenomenon is the busy lifestyle that people have, and it is totally a detrimental trend.

People have no choice but to have meals separately with their children or parents as they have a hectic life. In a modern society where there are various roles in a family, including students and full-time employees, households have to lead a different routine over a day. It is inconvenient and unrealistic for relatives who have day and night shifts to have food side by side every day, since some of them may need to make a huge compromise by sacrificing their resting time. Thus, family members prefer to feed themselves alone or with their colleagues.

Some people may think it is a positive development because they can decide when and what to have when it comes to meals without considering relatives’ preferences. However, people in a family will become alienated from each other as they will lose valuable time and opportunities for communication. Considering the fast-paced lifestyle mentioned above, mealtime has been the only hours that some people have to interact with kin during the day, talking about things happening and expressing care and love. Having meals without their children or parents means depriving the chance to boost the bond among the family.

Moreover, it is negative for the health of the younger generation if guardians are unable to eat with them. Without proper supervision from eating on the same table, children are partial to having fast food which is delicious but unhealthy without the nutrients needed for their growth. Young people may eat instant food since they are busy with study and work, having no time to cook for themselves. Thus, it is possible that the next generations have no well-rounded nutrition intakes and may become mal-nutritious when they are not able to have meals with senior family members on a daily basis.

In conclusion, I think that the stressful studying and work life is the key reason why some families do not have meals together daily, and I believe this is absolutely bad for people in terms of relationships and health, despite its convenience.