Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians What are the reasons for this Is it a positive or negative development

Pop stars and media personalities, being at the top-tier of the economic class, have better financial stability than the people running the country: public servants. The reasons for the status quo are not only societal but also pertaining to financial opportunities. The said reasons and the impact of this divide are elucidated ahead.

Firstly, politicians' public relations are not as high as of celebrities'. Owing to the fact that their whole job is to appease the audience, the former is more liked by the people. Therefore, people not only advocate for larger paycheques for their ideals but also they make them more popular by word of mouth advertisement. This creates a feedback loop which makes already successful celebrities, richer. This is not the case for politicians; their individual self is not reflected in the work they do, leading to, them, getting not as much attention from the public, as their counterparts.

Secondly, the sources, from which the cheques come, are abundant for the celebs. Where the public servants can fulfil their monetary needs from just one node: the government, the former, because of their non-linear work, reap the benefits, of the same, from more sources: advertisements, promotions and the movies, they do. This branched income tree exponentially increases the funds, making celebrities' bank balance that much heavier.

However, this causes one serious implication to the economic structure: less engagement in politics. The fact that job seekers always attract towards the more monetarily compensating jobs, the very crucial jobs, like this one, do not get the attention it demands; consequently, this widens the vacancy bracket in the government offices, which is detrimental to the functioning of it. India, which has billionaire actors and middle-class politicians, speaks volumes to illustrate this point as its government runs at only 60% occupancy.

In conclusion, the fact that people like celebrities more than politicians, and they are faced with more income opportunities, they get more overall income. However, this is negative for the government as people do not value it that much.