Nowadays children are experiencing increased educational, social and commercial pressure.

What are the reasons for this?

What is a solution to reduce the pressure?

It is true that children in modern society have to deal with tremendous pressures in numerous aspects such as education, social perception and even commercial channels. There are a variety of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be taken to improve the situation.

Among various reasons for the increasing trend in children’s pressures, competitive environment, especially at schools is the number one cause of children’s stressful lives. At the early stage of their lives when children begin their education path, they have been influenced by the good grades pressure from their parents. In addition, the mindset of competing to be the best that has been promoted in both society and advertisements aiming at children everyday also puts more mental pressure on children. As a result, children have no choice but to strain themselves to be as successful as the expectations from their parents and the society, which sometimes creates a sense of fear in their minds if the goal set out for them is unattainable or transcend their capability.

Since such issues are increasing more significantly, several steps should be taken to address this problem. The first solution regarding parents and the community would be to change their perception about perfection in children’s academic results as this might cause more stress and tension affecting children’s physical and intellectual development. Instead they should give realistic goals and achievable targets for children so that those youngsters not only would not have to try too hard to satisfy their parents but also be shielded from unwanted pressures. A second measure would be changing in the mission of schools which is currently the students’ achievements are considered as priority. Alternatively, what students have been learnt and be able to apply in practical situation should be put on the top to diminish the pressure on students to pass all the exams with flying colors.

In conclusion, although some reasons can be suggested as probable causes of this problem, there are measures which parents and society could take to reduce stress in children’s daily lives.