Nowadays it seems that almost all websites show online advertisements from other companies for products or services.
Is this a good thing or a bad thing?
In modern times, the usage of internet is getting increasingly popular across the globe and a lot of commercials are
published alongside in most of the webpages. Although these advertisements help visitors in choosing their products,
there are a lot of detrimental effects that can cause to people. This essay will discuss more in detail about the views.
Firstly, when online users visit various websites they easily get distracted by seeing the adverts displayed.
They will not be able to focus on the main content and get lured to sign up for some expensive items.
For instance when some one is looking to find natural ways to reduce hair fall or cure acne they get diverted by
enrolling to a herbal beauty clinic, thereby ending up losing their hard earned money and have not explored the actual things.
Secondly, the younger generation will also be misleaded by the online placard as they tend to buy video games
and mobile apps while browsing internet for academic purpose. Therefore, the advertisements should be
strictly avoided so that it will help the people not to shift their central idea.
A further reason to be wary of this idea is the Privacy aspect. There is always a threat that some one is tracking
the personal content by exhibiting items of our interest. Furthermore there is a possibility of banking details getting
stolen without our notice. For example if a person is viewing a sports website and gets an advertisement related to
gambling or casino, he will be attracted towards it and enters card details which might possibly end up in scam
and will cause serious loss to his finance.
To conclude, public should be mindful while accessing the online forums as these distractors will be vulenerable
to their savings and confidential details. I feel the organsation that governs the website has to enforce strict
laws on content owners not to encourage the advertisers.