Nowadays many big cities become overcrowded. Why is it happening, in your opinion? What measures could be taken to prevent it?

Today, it is being noticed that more and more people prefer to move and live in bigger urban centers like metros, cosmopolitan cities and bigger towns, which is resulting in increasing of urban population at an unprecedented rate. This development and phenomena can be rooted to many grounds.

The primary cause of this expanding crowd in big cities can be sourced to the compulsion of people to look for better opportunities in career and education. As the rural areas and regional cities and towns face a severe shortage of facilities that can assist in providing opportunities for the people for work and education, the people move towards bigger centers in pursuit of their objectives and ambitions. Better education and highly paid jobs and more opportunities for business play a major role in improving the standard of living of people.

Besides looking for opportunities, people also seek better amenities like healthcare, transportation, entertainment and other facilities that are laid by the municipal authorities at the disposal of the inhabitants of big metropolitan like stable and better electricity and water supply etc. these facilities are only accessible in big cities and not in smaller towns and regions.

Several people have suggested ways to prevent cities from being overcrowded. They feel that the smaller cities, towns and regions must get all the support of government and authorities and other important ingredients that can help develop, foster and raise the prospects for better education. Government must also introduce initiatives that boost economic activities in regions that are lagging behind. Taking these steps will definitely stop migration of people to bigger cities.

In conclusion, I feel that this problem is a bigger issue and governments across the world must find some workable solutions.