Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Even in today’s modern world, a huge number of people are living with illiteracy. While this would cause numerous perilous consequences, there are some solutions that the government should take to tackle this issue.

First, each individual who cannot read or write can experience a variety of difficult situations, especially in dealing with finding a profitable job. It is a fact that nowadays plenty of companies require reading and writing as the basic skills that each employee should have to complete a variety of tasks in their workplace. For instance, white-collar workers might have the ability to read and write so that they could deal with a massive number of documentaries and materials that their jobs demand, or else, they could probably be dismissed. Therefore, people who lack these fundamental capabilities are more likely to be unemployed or cannot find a well-paid job. Second, having a massive number of residents who cannot read or write, a country could experience an increase in its crime rate. Those residents who lack these crucial skills might not be well-educated as they could not comprehend the country’s laws and other elementary ethic lessons. From that point, the country could face the rise of crimes, robberies, traffic violations, or other perilous illegalities and become an insecure nation.

However, there could be several ways to deal with the lack of literacy skills. The first solution is that the government should open more free reading and writing classes and appeal to advocates’ generosity to teach in these classes. This would encourage more people to participate in these educational courses according to the fact that plenty of people with no reading and writing skills live in poverty and could not afford to study in public schools. Subsequently, more people would be given the incentive in their educational career and they could also find a better job to make ends meet in the future. Another way to work this worldwide's problem out is to widely propagate the importance of literacy to residents. For example, the government could have more daily programs on television channels or send their staff to several remote places and introduce the meaning of reading and writing. By the power of propaganda, more residents can be aware of those crucial skills and take part in educational systems or at least want to learn about those basic skills.

To conclude, while there are numerous problems associated with the widespread reading and writing deficiency, the government could take several immediate actions to reform this phenomenon.