Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.Why might this be the case?What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, a considerable proportion of people have a strong desire to work for themselves and they refuse to work as an employee for others. I believe it mainly happens due to possibilities that technology offers to us to make money and also many people think that establish your own business is more profitable in comparison with work for a company. However, being self-employed can have some drawbacks too such as increasing the level of responsibility and stress

Technologies such as computer and internet have opened a new door in front of people as they can establish many internet-based business and make money without being forced to work for other people. For example, people can sell their products easily or introduce their services by means of a website that people visit it through internet. Furthermore, in some cases having your own business might lead to have more financial freedom due to fact that you do not have to wait till end of the month to receive your salary. Finally there is a huge likelihood for those people working for themselves to be more successful and more productive as most people are more creative when they know that their creativity directly influences on how much money they earn.

However, self-employment can be disadvantageous for two main reasons. Firstly, when you are working for yourself you have to take heavy responsibilities that you might not take when you are a simple employee. For instance, an English teacher who is teaching English lessons through a website is in charge of doing all tasks and preparing teaching materials and he would be the primary responsible if something goes wrong. Secondly, managing and operating a business or job can be totally stressful when you work for yourself because many things can be out of control and these all can make people stressed.

In conclusion, I believe recently people have tendency to be self-employed due to huge benefits it offers although it could be extremely challenging to take all responsibilities and work for yourself.