Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or an organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Nowadays, more and more people opt to be their own boss as opposed to settling for a nine-to-five job in a company or an organization. People have various reasons to run their own businesses; However, this choice has its own drawbacks.

Being self-employed gives people a sense of control over their life. First of all, by running your own business, one has more freedom over their time. This means that they can schedule their professional responsibilities around their personal life Since they have the opportunity to start or stop working as they please. Besides, being your own boss, one often has the privilege of choosing their own workspace, wherever they feel most relaxed and concentrated. Therefore, it is no surprise why a vast majority of people choose this form of working.

On the other hand, running your own business is a challenging task and requires a great deal of self-discipline. Being in charge, one will experience increased working pressure and have to undertake great responsibilities. People should spend long hours working to keep the business running. This can cause stress in individuals and as a result, they are more prone to suffer from several health problems such as spinal pains and sleep deprivation. The situation is compounded by unpredictable income in that both market and expenses can be unpredictable at times. People’s earnings can be affected by changes in the world that are outside their control, and some expenses such as food and fuels can change frequently. So, one must develop money management skills to be able to make a living.

In conclusion, I would argue that while being your own boss can provide one with a great sense of control and achievement, it has its own disadvantages and decisions regarding which path one should choose must be made with more caution.