In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

The issue of whether or not children should be brought up to believe they can have or be whatever they want by working hard has grown in importance over the past few decades. While there are some disadvantages to passing on this message, I personally believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, some commentators justifiably argue that there are advantages to encouraging children to try hard for what they want. From their point of view, this mentality builds children’s confidence, and as a result, they will develop a sense of control over their life and environment. Therefore, in social situations, they are able to present the best version of themselves, and in turn, have a better chance of getting what they are after. It is also maintained that instilling this idea in children results in them developing a growth mindset. When children raised with this way of thinking set their mind to achieve something, they try their hardest regarding that matter. Even if they fail, as a result of this mindset, they are proved to be more resilient, and since practice makes perfect, these children are more likely to be successful in reaching their goals.

On the other hand, there are those who subscribe to the view that children believing in the idea that with hard work, everything is within their reach have some drawbacks. They argue that adults who promote this way of thinking are often oblivious to the obstacles children face because of their family or the society they live in. People keep telling stories of those who accomplished their dreams despite barriers but fail to mention other tens of thousands whose stories did not end well. However, I believe that growing with this mindset helps children stay hopeful in hardships and do their best regardless of the result. As Louis Pastor once said,” Chance only favors the prepared mind,” if one is prepared enough, they will eventually be given the opportunity.

In conclusion, although raising children to believe they are capable of doing whatever they put their minds to might have some drawbacks, the merits are more prominent. With having this idea, children will be more confident in their abilities, and that they can achieve anything, it may just take them longer.