Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.What might be be the case?What could be disadvantages of being self-employed?

In recent years, there is a significant growth in self-employment all over the world. This essay will analyze some main reasons, as well as examine some several drawbacks of this growing trend.

The option to become a self-employed is quite attractive for some reasons. Firstly, people who work for themselves have more flexible schedule because they do not worried about time attendance systems most office workers experience. Secondly, they get to work with people they like and make their own decision about who to hire and terminate, they can build a team aligned to their personality and goals. In term of their dreams, self-employed people, instead of working for a company or organization, would be able to launch their own business. They will have the freedom to innovate, express their own views, have influence beyond their own role and compete with other companies and people.

Despite those, there are also some negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. One of the biggest disadvantages of self-employment is the unsteadiness of income, especially in early days. They could go several months without earning a profit, and they will always have to pay running costs such as rent, utility bills, groceries. Also, unlike employees, freelancers’ payment vary significantly, depending mostly on their clients’ targets. Another problem is social isolation, when working alone for a long period of time, they will miss out on the workplace environment, feeling lonely and have no one to compete with, as a consequence, they are lack motivation. Furthermore, due to the flexible schedule, they need to work for longer hours and unpredictable, especially business owner. It’s vital for them to handle all aspects of their business, ranging from marketing and sale to financial and administrative responsibilities, as a result, the amount of family time is reduced.

In conclusion, although being a self-employed has some certain attractions, there are some disadvantages that should be considered carefully.