Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

There is a trend in recent years which is that everybody prefers to work for themselves. On the other hand, the alternative approach is to work for cooperation. People who have taken the freelancer path believe that there are many benefits with working for yourself, for example, having more flexible work time and high profit. On the other hand, there may be some downsides to this approach, such as high risk and little support from the others.

The reasons why one should pick self-employment are clear. First, the fact that you are your own boss is giving you the freedom to choose when to work. This would help you to manage your time more efficiently, and spend quality time with your family. Second, there is no need for an office and other unnecessary expenses. In result, you can earn more money with the same amount of work. Plus, this would help the environment because you do not need to drive to the office every day.

However, working for yourself might bring some issues. One of them is that you should take many risks through this job due to the chances of success are extremely low for someone who has not much experience. Many people lost their savings because they had not had enough knowledge or skills. Conversely, people who are working for a company have a safer atmosphere to work. Another problem is the fact that you do not have any co-workers or peers to seek help from or ask for advice.

In conclusion, being self-employed has it is ups and downs. However, if we are aware of the risks and have adequate experience, we can have a profitable job. Moreover, we can not deny the advantages of this approach which are adjustable work hour and helping the environment.