Nowadays, more and more people are using social networking sites and apps such as Facebook, Twitter… What are the reasons of this trend? What are the impacts that social networks bring to people who use it?

These days, the usage of social networking websites and apps such as Facebook, Twitter, and many others has developed significantly among citizens all over the world. In my opinion, this trend can be attributed to some reasons, and this revolution can produce many negative impacts on users.

Firstly, I argue that there are two main causes of why social media has gained considerable popularity on the global scale. Obviously, due to the globalization in the era of technology, it is essential for people., especially working adults who have entered the competitive job market, to keep themselves well-informed and updated about temporary social issues and knowledge. Meanwhile, social networks contain a wealth of information at people’s fingertips related to several fields such as education, environment, science because most of the social network users enjoy sharing and spreading knowledge about their favourite topics. In addition virtual world on these websites is the power tool for communication, allowing people to keep in touch with their loved ones and colleagues by texting or making video calls. For example, it is not necessary for office workers to gather in a certain place for meetings due to the fact that by using online-based communication tools such as Viber, they are able to contact with each other to conduct the meetings regardless of geographical distance.

However, I claim that there could be many drawbacks which the advent of those apps and websites has brought with it. Firstly, when citizens spend too much time accessing to social networks, there would be an increase in sedentary lifestyle, leading to many help problems for users. In particular, exposing themselves to the screens of smartphones or computers in the long-term periods could result in bodily discomforts such as eyestrains, headaches or even some diseases like obesity of stroke. Another downside of digital communication tools is the decline in real relationships. In fact, if people focus too much on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter, they will lose time for family bonding time or face-to-face conservation with their friends, causing them to be isolated from the outside society.

In conclusion, I believe that the rapid emergence of social networking sites and apps stems from the demand for acquiring information and connection of individuals, however; the participants of those websites need to be aware of the harmful effects mentioned above.