Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In modern society, a majority of young adults tend to bear babies when they grow older. While there are some causes which lead to this tendency, several disadvantages can affect countries.

There are two reasons why people love to begin their parenthood lately. Firstly, young adults want to rank their youth’s years for jobs, and they also like to find more opportunities in careers. In their viewpoints, they only can give a better life for their children if parents have a stable income and enough finance for the family. Secondly, people will have more time to study how to take care of their children and family if they have a baby lately. For example, the research in Vietnam, in 2005, the women aged over 35 knew how to look after babies better than the younger women. Therefore, these babies tend to succeed in their lives in the future.

However, this tendency also has some detrimental effects on communities. On the one hand, women, who pregnant after 40-year-old, will easily have defect children and governments have to spend the amount of money in the nation’s budget to take care of these babies. For instance, in a statistic at Hanoi, the babies will have more than 50% risk to have Down syndrome if their mothers were aged over 40. On the other hand, the distance between the two generations will be separated if people have children later. Therefore, children feel very difficult to share their personal lives with parents.

In conclusion, although more and more people want to begin their parenthood lately, this tendency has several drawbacks to societies.