Nowadays more people are choosing to live with friends or alone rather than with their families. This trend is likely to have a negative impact on communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

A growing number of people are opting to lead an independent life or reside with with their friends  in preference to living with their own families. This act of shifting away from family roots  has been reckoned to  bring adverse effects on societies.  I totally agree that this trend can not always be considered as a positive development and I will explain why in this essay.

Family relations and moral values are the foundations of a reputable society. Firstly, unlike a person living autonomously, the one grown  up and living in a happy family environment is less likely to experience negative feelings such as isolation, homesickness, loneliness, anxiety,  depression which can affect their mental and social well-being. A second negative factor that might be resulted from independent life is loosing the sense of belonging once grown-ups start to adjust to their friends company. By this I mean that even if they are surrounded with their close ones, they often lack support, love, kindness from their families  where they always have a place to feel secure,  comfortable and happy that can not always achieved from others or from their own. Thirdly,  people who live away from their bonds are found to commit different crimes more  often than those in families and the likelihood of joining to different criminal groups, developing various  bad habits, changing behaviours  under the influence of friends are the  common problems seen in many societies. This suggests that family setup fosters balance in people's lives, brings stability and safety to communities.

On the other hand, it is true that society needs those who live independent since this means that they know how to stand up for themselves,  take up their responsibilities and support themselves and those in need. Despite this,  it seems to me that family bonds are an integral part of society which  facilitates  its overall structure.

In conclusion, the contribution of families providing community with healthy atmosphere such as love, safety, security ,comfort  is more significant than the trend that can affect its development otherwise.