Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. Is this a negative or positive development?

In recent times, society has witnessed an exponential increase in the advancements of technology. To facilitate the needs of humans, several robots have been created to achieve this goal with numerous household chores finished or tasks done at dangerous workplaces. Notwithstanding the possibility of several problems lurking beneath this notion, robot task performance seems to have many advantages which can potentially lead to positive development. In this essay, both negative and positive facets of this will be further elucidated before drawing any conclusion.

To begin with, automatic machines helping with a wide variety of tasks might stem the root of a sedentary lifestyle. As there are now more technological inventions like dishwashers or washing machines, people are likely to find doing the dishes or washing clothes no longer difficult tasks. This could vaguely draw out a future of automation where their daily rituals will prospectively just include eating scrumptious food and trying out different culinary delights while sitting on the sofa watching television. As appealing as it may be, if there is no end to this unhealthy lifestyle, individuals will have to face troubles related to their physical and mental well-being, such as obesity or high blood pressure.

However, turning to the other side of the argument, it is undeniable that robots can do missions in dangerous conditions which are impossible for humans. As of today’s world, people have already seen or read in newspapers about automatic machines working in extreme weather conditions or places that have been affected by radiation. Humans are mortal, therefore when put in high-risk places like construction sites or volcanic areas, unpredictable predicaments may happen; this may be when robots come into place to mitigate the chance of fatality. Another major reason worth mentioning is the increase in productivity. At the workplace or home, with back-ups from robotic assistants, people can focus on tasks on their priority list to achieve better results like increasing work performance or quickening the task accomplishment.

In conclusion, robots may be unbeneficial to some certain extends, however, by looking from a broader viewpoint and shedding light on the aforementioned examples, it is crystal clear that robots can do wonders for people‘s life. Therefore, robots' advancement is of high potential and may bring humanity closer to a better future of automation.