Memorizing facts is the most important way to succeed in education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Education has been an indispensable part of humanity since the dawn of civilization. In order to conquer the land of educational knowledge, a stance has been indicating that learning facts by heart is of paramount importance. While this may be true to some certain extends, I somewhat disagree with the statement, of which the reasons will be further elucidated in this essay.

To begin with, regarding its positive facet, it is undeniable that memorizing facts is crucial by virtue of the prevalence of paper-based examinations and tests. To specify, in many countries, students’ study performance is generally examined and graded upon the marks that they received after doing paper tests, rather than an assortment of practical experiments they did during the lessons. These kinds of tests are composed of facts and knowledge which high schoolers have to revise and memorize before the test date if they want to receive a high grade. Courtesy of this phenomenon, the main medium of achieving desirable study performance is facts repetition.

However, be that as it may, I believe that repeating facts is not the only testament to one’s level of education. To cite an example, there has been a host of competitions focusing on practical experiments rather than mere knowledge of different spheres of education. By taking part in these competitions, it is highly probable that many youngsters were able to show their accumulation of a reservoir of knowledge by doing chemical trials or inventing a new robot. By shedding light on these examples, it is crystal clear that memorizing information is not the most fundamental way to create success and breakthroughs in education.

In conclusion, I believe that the efficiency of learning mere knowledge without experimenting is not considerable. Thus, it might not the key contributor to the high level of understanding of several students. All things considered, experimental learning other study methods besides memorizing should be integrated into education to cultivate the study performance of students.