Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

In many countries, there is a lack of students for science courses in universities and colleges. There are two major problems with this situation and it causes some negative effects on society.

As young students do not want to take part in science courses, several related problems can be anticipated. One problem is that students struggle to follow the science curriculum which makes the incredible pressure for them. This may lead to they must spend a great deal of time for learning which prevents them from enjoying their life with outdoor activities. Another problem is that there are currently fewer job opportunities for science graduates, learners are less likely to decide to select these majors. Instead, they tend to choose other subjects which allow them to find jobs more easily. Young learners, for example, are more likely to choose some subjects such as information technology or finance that gives them countless opportunities to seek jobs with high salaries and have more chances to move up the career ladder.

Lacking students for science subjects cause detrimental effects on the society. Firstly, there are fewer employees working in science fields which lead to fewer technology breakthroughs are prevented. This may prevent improvements in people’ life quality. Secondly, it would be difficult for universities and colleges to continue science classes when they receive insufficient applications from learners. With the decrease in science graduates, there is an insufficient workforce for some science fields including robotics.

In conclusion, there are various reasons for the decrease in science students and this causes some negative effects on society.