Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

Over the past few decades, the world has seen an upsurge in the trend of students choosing social subjects rather than science ones in university. This essay will outline several possible causes as well as several potential effects for this tendency.

To begin with, one of major reasons why students gradually becoming indifferent to science fields is the impractical content. This will be proven by looking at how much knowledge students can apply in their real job. They study a wide range of complex algorithm, but still struggle with how to draw a feasible solution in the face of pressing problems or how to convince other people to follow their new ideas. Under this circumstance, students predominantly choose social subjects so that they may be able to hone their communication skills, which are useful to any types of occupations. Therefore, it can be concluded that studying science majors seem to not provide students sufficient soft skills for their future jobs.

Unfortunately, if this tendency is still on the rise, it will carry a certain degree of risk to the society. For instance, the shortage of human resources relating to science fields may pose a severe threat to the stability of job market. In all probability, job opportunities would be significantly competitive with respect to social majors, while the lack of science workforce lead to economic depression. However, this phenomenon partly has a positive impact on the community when it comes to social awareness. The more people take social activities into account, the more social urgent issues being mitigated, from the weight of stigma towards mental disorders to sectarian violence.

On the whole, it seems to me that the variation of students’ preferences is unavoidable. Therefore, instead of ceasing it, we should find a way to adopt and preclude from adverse repercussions.