nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants why do you think people waste food what can be done to reduce the amount of food that throw away

It is true that a huge amount of food has been disposed of by individuals these days. In my opinion, the higher standard of life and the increase in crop production have led to this tendency and several effective solutions can be taken by both government and consumers to tackle the problem.

To commence with, there are two fundamental reasons why throw-away food has become increasingly pervasive in this modern world. First and foremost, due to the improvement in quality of life, people nowadays do not have to worry much about the insufficiency of food supply. This is because food is manufactured widely all over the world to meet the demand of residents with a relatively low cost,thus, a large number of buyers tend to buy excessive amounts of food. Furthermore, a higher yield crop also enables people to buy a surplus amount of food despite their real need. As a result, the incline of making unnecessary food purchases has become popular among a large proportion of the global population.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to alleviate this problem. The first solution would be that the government should run global food campaigns and anti-food waste campaigns to raise consumers’ awareness about consuming food properly. Consequently, more and more people will be aware that wasting food is a pressing issue, encouraging them to become conscious consumers and mindful eaters. Moreover, applying a surcharge for consumers who do not finish food is also an efficient measure to solve this issue. A good example in this case is Dokki- one of the most well-known food chains serving korean food in Viet Nam. They have the policy that if customers’ remaining food contains more than 20% of the food they have taken, they will have to pay an extra fee of 30 dollars for their wasting food.

In conclusion, it is apparent that better life and growth in food production have contributed to the escalating amount of wasted food nowadays, and potent steps need to be taken not only by the government but also by the individual buyers to combat the problem.