As well as making money businesses also have social responsibilities To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many people argue that aside from making profits, entrepreneurs are also in charge of some duties toward the community. While involvement in several social commissions will do wonders for promoting the images of the companies, I maintain that this is not only the responsibility of individual corporations but also of every citizen and the government.

On the one hand, the idea of being socially responsible is beneficial for businesses due to the following reason. This can be a useful marketing strategy to improve customers’ perception of a brand. For instance, Hoa Phat - one of the most influential corporations with expertise in providing construction materials in Vietnam, has invested in sporting facilities to serve the local residents in most public parks in Hanoi. This social investment has made a good impression on the citizens there and a large pool of people consider Hoa Phat as a reliable company to purchase materials for construction.

On the other hand, there are a number of reasons why corporations should not be comprehensively socially responsible. First and foremost, many companies have contributed to society by complying with taxes and several vital regulations. Therefore, the government should undertake the commission of ensuring a well-qualified life for their residents. Moreover, Individuals also need to share social obligations. For example, they can participate in a voluntary organization aiming at protecting the environment. By undertaking several tasks such as raising people’s awareness about environmental preservation and volunteering to collect rubbish on the beaches, rivers, and public parks, they can give a hand to alleviate the rate of environmental pollution.

In conclusion, while contributing to the development of society can be greatly beneficial for the businesses themselves in terms of advertising their brands, I contend that the role of individual as well as government contribution is also of paramount importance. In my opinion, I believe that the joint effort of businesses, residents, and state authorities will help to facilitate better social sustainability.