The best way to solve the world s environmental problems to increase the costs of fuels Do you agree or disagree

Many people argue that an increase in fuel prices will solve the problem of the environment. While this idea could help reduce the amount of harmful fumes, I maintain that a global awareness campaign is the most feasible option.

On the one hand this policy might help cut down the emissions from private vehicles which pollute the air in big cities. Indeed, as the cost per kilometer increases, people would have to consider reducing the distance and the frequency at which they travel on the roads. If there is a need to travel, commuters might also turn to more cost-effective and greener means of transportation such as buses or electric bikes. In both of these cases, the total amount of noxious fumes that cause air pollution is limited.

However, an increase in fuel prices can only solve a limited part of the complex environmental issues. In fact, causes of pollution are diverse, involving the use of plastic bags in shopping or chemicals in both agriculture and industry which contaminate both water and land. Therefore, the most effective solution would be running a world-wide campaign that raises the consumer awareness about the environmental cost of their shopping habits and presses companies to reduce the consumption of noxious chemicals and resolve to greener cultivating and manufacturing methods.

In conclusion, while increasing fuel costs can partly solve the environmental problems by discouraging private vehicle usage, the ideal solution would be making the public and enterprises aware of these issues. I am also convinced that once more resolute actions are taken, humans can reverse the effect of climate change and environmental problems.