Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport while other people think that mental strength is more important Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Many people argue that in order to become successful in sport,a tough mentality does play a more crucial role than strong physicality. While no sportsperson can reach the top without mental qualities of determination and competitiveness, I maintain that the basis of success is physical strength.

On the one hand, the necessity of a strong mental attitude is beneficial to some extent. First and foremost, a great attempt during training period as well as real matches is required to gain fruitful achievements in sport. For example, spending an extensive period in the gym which may be extremely repetitive and tedious so aspiring athletes need a lot of effort to stay focused and overcome these difficulties to achieve their goals. Moreover, a competitive spirit also contributes to the success of sportsmen. Indeed, the competitiveness will powerfully motivate them to try their best to obtain the championship in the competitions. Therefore, a win-at-all-cost attitude is highly valued in the world of professional sports, and it is impossible to have a laid-back attitude and still succeed.

On the other hand, I contend that sustaining a strong fitness is the prerequisite key to success in all sport fields. The first reason is that without physical strength a person will never be successful to outweigh other counterparts in a sporting game. This can be apparently seen in some sports such as weightlifting, boxing or judo. Furthermore, a number of sports demand physical strength for stamina and endurance. A prime example for this case is jogging which requires athletes to run unstoppably on a lengthy track. Therefore, if the participant does not have a good physicality, he can not cope with the tiredness during the racetrack and can not manage to defeat other stronger candidates.

In conclusion, while maintaining a healthy mental state will do wonders for sportsmen to succeed in their chosen fields, I believe that the physical condition is also of paramount importance leading to the success in sport. In my view, I suppose it is a better option for sportspeople to balance between mental and physical health to climb the ladder of success.