Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is in this case? Is a positive or negative development.

The priority of formal academic qualifications over life experience or personal characteristics in the recruitment process has been highlighted as an emerging issue for many reasons. Although the disadvantage is pronounced, the upside can justify this.

There are many reasons behind this trend. First, Recruiters often equate academic qualifications to excellent credentials for the occupation, leading to higher efficiency and productivity at work. For example, graduates with excellent degrees are more likely to be granted high positions than those with inferior qualifications. Second, academic qualifications could enable employers have better gauge on the applicants’ potentials. It is clear that if recruiters choose people with good life experience, it will require long apprentice process to ensure their competence, costing unnecessary time, money and effort.

However, this pattern could have both positive and negative effects on companies. On the one hand, individuals with formal academic qualifications are already outfitted with knowledge and proper training for various job specifications. This will save companies from sending staffs to educational institutions for job training, which is proved to be prohibitively expensive process. On the other hand, since employees have a penchant for over-relying on their formal academic knowledge and unpracticed skills, they consequently could hardly handle real-life predicaments and crises as effectively as those with life experience.

In conclusion, the pattern could stem from the equation of academic capacities with high work productivity and the evaluation of applicants’ abilities. Additionally, this could culminate in lower disbursement on staff training in companies but simultaneously the increasing likelihood of inflexible personnel.