Nowadays some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees Why is in this case Is a positive or negative development

In this increasingly competitive society, formal academic degrees are considered to be more crucial than hands-on experience by some job recruiters when they seek new candidates. This trend happens due to several causes, and I believe it is a negative tendency.

To begin with, there are some reasons why a host of employers prefer formal qualifications to practical skills. Firstly, since universities usually provide an interactive learning environment for not only acquiring basic knowledge but also cultivating soft skills, getting these degrees can open the door to better job opportunities. For example, interpersonal and teamwork skills can be improved by doing group projects, which makes a contribution to all-round development. Secondly, there is a great need for many professional jobs to be studied for the long term in research environment. For instance, the accumulation of specialized knowledge, as well as the conduct of an array of experiments, is vitally important for those who chase a career as doctors. In case of lack of the higher education pursuit, there might be less likelihood to be qualified for such kinds of jobs.

However, I would argue this is a negative development because of some drawbacks. First, having a university degree no longer plays an important role in seeking career prospects even in this knowledge-based society. This is because vocational training with a much shorter period of time currently gains more popularity as a result of employment opportunities it opens up, coupled with job security upon completion. Additionally, the commonplace of the pursuit of tertiary education and formal qualifications would lead graduates to apply for jobs that are deserving. This increases the lack of blue-collar workers, contributing directly to imbalances in the workforce that would damage the economic structure of a country.

In conclusion, there are a myriad of reasons causing the valuation of formal qualification over practical experience in search of employment, and I believe this tendency brings greater disadvantages.