Many animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in sea What are the reasons and solutions to solve this issue

These days, humankind’s relentless pursuit of economic growth is driving many wildlife species to the verge of extinction both on land and under the ocean. This phenomenon undoubtedly could be attributed to several factors and this essay would put forward some feasible measures to tackle these potential problems.

There are two main reasons behind animal extinction. One of these is illegal hunting and overexploitation. According to a study by the Center for People and Nature (PanNature), the number of wild elephants currently in Vietnam is only 120, a 16-fold decrease in comparison to 1990 because of the poaching for ivory. The other reason for animal disappearance is the loss of natural habitats due to human activities such as deforestation, marine debris, and oil spill. Such activities would destroy shelters, food sources and affect the health of the animals living there. This leads to population decline, and extinction becomes more likely. For instance, forests that are home to wild species are being cut down to make way for factories and buildings.

However, the aforementioned causes could be dealt with several solutions. One approach is the policies and regulations of the government. They should organize guards to protect animals against hazards and have drastic measures and harsher punishments for unlawful hunting and environmental destruction. According to Vietnamese law, the act of poaching wild animals will be punished by a criminal penalty of between VND 500 million and VND 2 billion or a prison term of between 1 and 5 years. Moreover, it is critical to raise people’s awareness about wild animal conservation. They should be educated to boycott products made from certain species such as rhinos, elephants, and crocodiles.

To recapitulate, while the impact of human exploitation causes significant damage to wildlife, this can be addressed with a variety of approaches.