Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online Is this a positive or negative development

These days, opinions are divided on whether students should follow traditional learning methods or online courses alternatives provided by some universities. The latter, in many cases, should be more beneficial.

First, given that taking a distance learning course can help students register and study at all times and places, it would be convenient. This allows people to acquire knowledge and get formal qualifications in an easy way without spending their time at school. Admittedly, traditional learning models might provide a ready face to face interaction with lecturers and classmates. However, universities also provide a variety of e-interactive ways such as sending an email or video conferencing with the teachers, who are available to support each individual with difficulties. To take an example, Ken, one of my brother- in-law, although he has to work full time at the office and take care of his family on the weekend, wants to participate in higher education. To deal with this problem, he made a decision to study online courses in view of the flexibility of the time and places.

Second, choosing Internet-based courses would help students to save a great amount of money. Since online programs do not require as many expenses or amenities as on campus offerings, people can cut down on expenses such as eating out, renting a house and parking, especially in case of studying overseas. To exemplify this point, Alice, my best friend, even though her desire is earning an MBA abroad, cannot afford to live in America. Thanks to online college, she can attend classes from home with reasonable tuition fees.

In conclusion, for all the aforementioned reasons, I believe that providing Internet-based courses for students outweighs disadvantages.