In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of taking a gap year before starting university

These days, young people tend to spend a year off after the final high school examination working or travelling, then continuing their studies. This issue is being interested and applied by teenagers. In many cases, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure. I will discuss this problem below.

First, gap-year would waste their time if they do not have specific plans. Given that they do not know what they have to face, they can not anticipate the difficulties they have. Therefore, gap-year makes people spend a lot of time, money but not effectively and achieve worthy benefits. For example, Quang, one of my brother, just passed the graduation exam. Because of stress, he chose a gap year but did not have a specific plan. Then every day, he got depressed because he did not know what to do. He spent too much time, money on useless things that did not bring any benefit during the 1 year gap year.

Second, gap year brings more experiences and helps young people understand themselves better. They will be challenged with new experiences, new professions to find out what is right for them. Besides, when trying different jobs, teenagers will earn a small amount of money and save it. To exemplify this point, Diep, my sister, since she did not choose a gap year, she went to university immediately after graduating from high school. Because she did not understand the nature of the major, after about 2 years of study, she felt depressed and found that the major was not suitable. with me and decided to change majors. Changing majors midway through like this made her have to start everything from scratch.

In conclusion, for all aforementioned reasons, I believe that having a gap year properly will help us have a more experience and a multidimensional view in ourselves.