Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

Curently, there is a debate about whether overseas visitors should pay more than native visitors for cultural and historical attractions. This opinion, in many cases, should be more beneficial.

The discount to local residents, in many cases, be regarded as a form of gratitude. Because local authorities and most of people contributed a lot of effort and money to maintain, protect and develop historical sites and cultural heritage so they often get preferential prices tickets. Take, for example, a lot of local inhabitants in Da Nang - a central province of Vietnam, participate in activities of waste treatment, repair and remodeling of some of the city's famous tourist attractions, including Ba Na Hill, so local residents here often enjoy ticket prices for services 30% off compared to the general price.

Admittedly, in some cultural and historical attractions, foreign visitors pay more than local visitors leading to many people taking advantage of this. To illustrate this point of view, Mr. John – French nationality, my friend, came to visit “Tomb of king Minh Mang” – one of the famous heritage sites of Vietnam, he bought a local resident’s entrance ticket for 20 USD/ 1 ticket instead of higher price for foreign visitors if he purchased directly at the ticket office . The entrance ticket price of this place is 30 USD/ 1 ticket for Vietnamese in other provinces and foreign visitors, 15 USD/ 1 ticket for dwellers. Taking advantage of these offers, many local residents used identity card/ citizen ID - proof of permanent residence - to buy preferential tickets with and re-sell them for 20 USD/ 1 ticket to out-of-province visitors like my friend. However, this negative trend could be solved by to keep close control of entrance tickets such as checking personal documents of visitors at the ticket office and the entrance ticket checking area for preferentia tickets of native people.

In conclusion, in my view, it is generally a beneficial opinion that overseas visitors should pay more than native visitors for cultural and historical attractions.