Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that employing is of paramount importance for an organization, and employers today tend to pay more attention to candidates who possess academic qualifications rather than life experience and qualities. This viewpoint, which will be discussed below, is attributed to several reasons, and has more drawbacks than benefits.

Recruiters’ preference of formal academic qualifications is rooted in the fact that learners are trained and practiced while gaining specialized knowledge for a given career. They thus having a better ability and crucial skills to work without being trained and guided. This view is true in knowledge-based jobs such as doctors, lawyers, teachers who must have enough career-related knowledge and skills. Otherwise they could barely diagnose a symptom, defend the accused or pass knowledge to their students. Choosing qualified candidates, therefore, helps employers to have their jobs finished appropriately, saving their time of retrain.

Knowledge alone, however, could not guarantee the overall quality of an employee. Coming fresh out of school, the lack of life experience makes students struggle to find ways of dealing with problems, socializing with others or determining their career path. As a result, they easily end up giving the jobs or being fired as serving no value to the organization. Equally important is one’s qualities as it determines whether his or her work is morality-oriented or not. An immoral worker, for instance, shows no hesitation to cheat and harm their colleagues, or even create products regardless or users’ well-being. Eventually, the companies would suffer from their negative consequences.

To recap, it seems that recruiters’ inclination towards qualifications makes them fail to find moral and experienced employees, not only leading to time-consuming recruitment but even organization’ destruction.